About Us

The School of the Environment was officially launched on August 21, 2023, formed by the merger of three units: Department of Earth & Climate Sciences, Department of Geography & Environment and the Environmental Studies Program. The School has six undergraduate majors and four graduate degrees, as well as several minors and certificates.

Who are we?

The School of the Environment is a community of students, staff, and faculty bound together by a common commitment to scientific exploration, sustainable stewardship of our environment, and social justice. We collaborate across disciplines to understand the physical processes, the structures of political and economic power, and the social and cultural forces that shape our environment, and to pursue solutions to wide-ranging societal challenges. We strive to create a department culture committed to equity, inclusion and antiracism. The School of the Environment provides undergraduate and graduate degrees in Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Geography and Earth Science.